Jill Bialosky is the author of two collections of poetry, The End of Desire (Knopf, 1997) and Subterranean (Knopf, 2001), and a forthcoming collection, Intruder (Knopf, fall 2008). She has written two novels, House Under Snow (Harcourt, 2002) and most recently The Life Room (Harcourt, 2007). Her poems and essays have appeared in New Yorker, Paris Review, American Poetry Review, and Nation. She is an editor at W. W. Norton & Company and lives in New York City.

Joseph Campana‘s poems have appeared in Beloit Poetry Journal, Colorado Review, Hotel Amerika, New England Review, Gulf Coast, Michigan Quarterly Review, Prairie Schooner, Poetry, and TriQuarterly. His first collection, The Book of Faces, was published by Graywolf Press in 2005. He is the recipient of a 2007 Creative Writing Fellowship in Poetry from the NEA. Currently, he is completing a manuscript of poems titled Spring Comes to Ohio. He teaches Renaissance literature and creative writing in the Department of English at Rice University.

Bonnie Jo Campbell is the author of the novel Q Road (Scribner, 2003) and the collection Women & Other Animals (Simon & Schuster, 2003). She won the AWP Award in Short Fiction (1999), a Pushcart Prize, and was named a B&N Great New Writer. She raises donkeys and practices weapons arts in Kalamazoo, Michigan.

Victoria Chang‘s book of poems, Circle, won the Crab Orchard Open Competition (Southern Illinois, 2005). She edited Asian American Poetry: The Next Generation (Illinois, 2004). Her poems have been published in Best American Poetry, Poetry, Ploughshares, New Republic, and Paris Review. She lives in Irvine, California.

Nadia Herman Colburn‘s poetry has appeared in APR, Harvard Review, New Yorker, and many other places. She lives in Cambridge, Massechusetts, with her husband and two children.

Nicole Cooley‘s books include Resurrection, winner of the 1995 Walt Whitman Award, and The Affilicted Girls (2004). She is an associate professor of English and directs the new MFA program at Queens College. She is working on a book of poetry about hurricane Katrina called Breach.

Beth Ann Fennelly is the recipient of a 2003 NEA award and a 2006 United States Artist Grant. She has published three books of poetry, most recently Unmentionables (W. W. Norton, 2008), and is an associate professor of English at the University of Mississippi.

Marilyn Hacker is the author of twelve books of poems, including Desesperanto (W. W. Norton, 2003) and Essays on Departure: New and Selected Poems (Carcanet Press, UK, 2006). She teaches at the City College of New York and the CUNY Graduate Center.

Meredith Hall is the 2005 recipient of the Gift of Freedom Award, a two-year writing grant from A Room of Her Own foundation. She won the 2005 Pushcart Prize, and was named in “Notable Essays” in The Best American Essays 2005. Her work has appeared in the New York Times, Southern Review, Creative Nonfiction, Five Points, and many other journals and anthologies. Her memoir, Without a Map, was published by Beacon Press in 2007.

Brooks Haxton‘s new collection, They Lift Their Wings to Cry, is being published by Knopf this summer. Haxton teaches at Syracuse University and Warren Wilson College.

Holly Goddard Jones‘s fiction has appeared in Southern Review, EPOCH, Gettysburg Review, and previously in The Kenyon Review. She has been anthologized in New Stories from the South and was honored with a special mention in Pushcart Prize XXXI. A graduate of the MFA program in creative writing at Ohio State University, she is now assistant professor at Murray State University.

Elizabeth Lantz‘s work has appeared in American Literary Review and Georgetown Review. She holds an MFA in creative nonfiction from the Ohio State University and is currently completing a memoir titled “The Hanged Woman.”

J. D. McClatchy is the author of five books of poems and three books of essays. He has edited many other books and his libretti have been performed in opera houses all over the world. He teaches at Yale.

Ben Miller‘s prose can be found in recent and forthcoming issues of Agni, Yale Review, Antioch Review, Raritan, Western Humanities Review, Gulf Coast, and Northwest Review. His nonfiction has appeared in the Best American Essays anthology, and awards include a creative writing fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts. Meanwhile, in the Dronx . . .– a book of stories, monologues, and essays exploring a mythical sixth borough of New York City – is forthcoming from Rager Media.

Steven Ray Smith has published poetry in Concho River Review, Raintown Review, Alembic, SN Review, Orbis, Story South, and others. He is the former editor of Texas Poetry Journal and is now a vice president at Texas Culinary Academy. He lives in Austin with his wife and children.

Willard Spiegelman is the Hughes Professor of English at Southern Methodist University and the editor-in-chief of Southwest Review. Partial Accounts: Selected Literary Essays is forthcoming from Oxford University Press. “‘Tis Yet to Come” is his second published poem.

Kerri Webster is a writer-in-residence at Washington University in St. Louis. Her first book, We Do Not Eat Our Hearts Alone, was published by the University of Georgia in 2005.

Jonathan Weinert‘s first book of poems is In the Mode of Disappearance, (Nightboat Books, 2008), selected by Brenda Hillman for the Nightboat Poetry Prize. His work appears in Pleiades, Laurel Review, Notre Dame Review, Bellingham Review, and elsewhere.

Aurelia Wills has published stories in various journals, including “Raymond & Paul” in Orchid (Spring 2003), which was nominated for a 2004 Pushcart Prize. She tutors ESC to refugees and immigrants in St. Paul, where she lives with her husband and children.

C. Dale Young practices medicine full time, edits poetry for New England Review, and teaches in the Warren Wilson MFA Program for Writers. His most recent book is The Second Person.

Kevin Young is the author of five books of poetry, most recently For the Confederate Dead, nominated for a Quill Award. He is Atticus Haygood Professor and curator of the Danowski Poetry Library at Emory University.

Back to top ↑

Sign up for Our Email Newsletter