Megan Mayhew Bergman lives on a small farm in Vermont. Her collection Birds of a Lesser Paradise was published by Scribner, who will also publish her forthcoming novel.

Amy Victoria Blakemore is a graduate of Franklin and Marshall College, where she received an Academy of American Poetry Prize. Her writing appears in Susquehanna Review and Cleaver Magazine. She currently works in Boston, Massachusetts.

Bruce Bond’s recent volumes of poetry include Choir of the Wells: A Tetralogy (Etruscan, 2013), The Visible (LSU, 2012), Peal (Etruscan, 2009), and Blind Rain (LSU, 2008). His books The Other Sky (Etruscan) and For the Lost Cathedral (LSU) are forthcoming.

J. Scott Brownlee is a former Writers in the Public Schools Fellow at NYU, where he cofounded the Localists with Javier Zamora, Matthew Wimberley, and J. T. Dawson. His chapbook, Highway or Belief, won the 2013 Button Poetry Prize. He is originally from Llano, Texas.

Michael Capel received his MFA from Boise State University. His work has appeared in Baltimore Review, Barnstorm, and South Dakota Review. He lives in Boise with his partner, fiction writer Mollie Ficek, and their dog, Rusty.

Melissa Febos is the author of the memoir Whip Smart (St. Martin’s Press, 2010). The 2013 winner of the Prairie Schooner Creative Nonfiction Prize and a 2013 Barbara Deming Memorial Fund artist grant, she has received fellowships from the MacDowell Colony and the Bread Loaf Writers’ conference, and is assistant professor of creative nonfiction at Monmouth University, as well as MFA faculty in the low-residency program at the Institute of American Indian Arts. She splits her time between Brooklyn, New York, and Mohave Valley, Arizona.

Frank Fucile is a PhD candidate in American Studies at the College of William and Mary. His dissertation is on photography and environments of war.

Aja Gabel’s fiction can be found in New England Review, Glimmer Train, New Ohio Review, and elsewhere. She was a fellow at the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown and lives and writes in Houston. This is her first published essay.

Jeremy Glazier lives in Columbus, Ohio, where he is associate professor of English at Ohio Dominican University. His poems have appeared in Beloit Poetry Journal, Cimarron Review, Commonweal, and elsewhere. He is the recipient of an Individual Excellence Award from the Ohio Arts Council.

José González Prada was born in Lima, Peru, in 1844. An early practitioner of the modernista style in Latin America, González Prada was also an anarchist, an outspoken critic of the Catholic church, and, after an unsuccessful bid for the presidency in 1899, the director of the National Library of Peru. He died in Lima in 1918.

Kimberly Grey is a Wallace Stegner Fellow in Poetry at Stanford University. Her work has appeared in Tin House, A Public Space, PN Review (London), Southern Review, and elsewhere. She lives in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Jeffrey Harrison’s fifth full-length book of poetry, Into Daylight, was published by Tupelo Press in April 2014 as the winner of the Dorset Prize. More recent work has appeared or is forthcoming in New Republic, Yale Review, and elsewhere.

Joanna Klink is the author of three books of poems, most recently Raptus. Her new book is forthcoming in 2015.

Michelle Latiolais is professor of English at the University of California at Irvine. She is the author of the novel Even Now, which received the Gold Medal for Fiction from the Commonwealth Club of California. Her second novel, A Proper Knowledge, was published in 2008 by Bellevue Literary Press. She has published writing in three anthologies, Absolute Disaster, Women on the Edge: Writing from Los Angeles, and Woof! Writers on Dogs. Her stories and essays have appeared in ZYZZYVA, Antioch Review, Western Humanities Review, Santa Monica Review, Iowa Review, and Northwest Review. Widow, a collection of stories, involutions, and essays, was released in January 2011 from Bellevue Literary Press. She has work forthcoming in ZYZZYVA, Santa Monica Review, and Juked.

Campbell McGrath is the author of ten books of poetry, most recently In the Kingdom of the Sea Monkeys (Ecco Press, 2012). A resident of Miami, he teaches in the MFA program at Florida International University.

Joyce Carol Oates is a recipient of the National Medal of Humanities, the National Book Critics Circle Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award, the National Book Award, and the PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in Short Fiction. She is the author of the story collection Lovely, Dark, Deep, as well as the national bestsellers The Accursed, We Were the Mulvaneys, Blonde, The Falls, and The Gravedigger’s Daughter. She is a professor of the humanities at Princeton University and has been a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters since 1978.

Lori Ostlund’s collection The Bigness of the World (UGA Press, 2009) won the 2008 Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction. Her work has appeared in ZYZZYVA, Iowa Review, Southern Review, Best American Short Stories, and the PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories. She lives in San Francisco.

Eric Pankey is the author of ten collections of poetry, most recently Trace and Dismantling the Angel. He teaches in the BFA and MFA programs at George Mason University.

Carl Phillips is the author, most recently, of Silverchest (FSG, 2013), a book of poems, and The Art of Daring: Risk, Restlessness, Imagination (Graywolf, 2014), a book of essays. He is professor of English at Washington University in St. Louis.

Ben Purkert’s poems appear in AGNI, Best New Poets 2012, Fence, Narrative, New Yorker, Ploughshares, and elsewhere. A contributing writer for Harvard Review Online and Kenyon Review Online, Ben is a former New York Times Fellow at NYU. Links to his work are found at

Jacques Rancourt was raised in Maine. His poems have appeared in New England Review, Beloit Poetry Journal, and Colorado Review, among others. He is currently a Stegner Fellow at Stanford University.

David S. Reynolds is the author or editor of fifteen books, including Mightier Than the Sword (Norton, 2011), John Brown, Abolitionist (Knopf, 2005), and Walt Whitman’s America (Knopf, 1995). He is the winner of the Bancroft Prize, the Christian Gauss Award, and the Ambassador Book Award.

Ira Sadoff is the author of seven books of poetry, most recently True Faith (BOA), a critical book on aesthetics and politics; History Matters (University of Iowa Press), a novel; and The Ira Sadoff Reader. He is also a recipient of fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the NEA.

Sherod Santos is the author of six books of poetry, most recently The Intricated Soul: New and Selected Poems (W. W. Norton, 2010). He lives in Chicago.

Harold Schweizer is professor of English at Bucknell University. His volume of poems, The Book of Stones and Angels, is forthcoming from Tupelo Press. His most recent book is On Waiting with Routledge.

Back to top ↑

Sign up for Our Email Newsletter